Lionel Messi Named Ballon D’or Winner 2021

Lionel Messi Ballon D’or Winner: Lionel Messi was announced as the Ballon D’or Winner for 2021. The argentine continued his domination on the title as he won his 7th Ballon D’Or title, which is a new record. The second best is 5 titles which is held by his arch-rival, Cristiano Ronaldo. He also won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and in 2015. What made it extra special for the PSG player is the fact that it was his seventh title which is also the jersey no. of Ronaldo. The ceremony was conducted in Chatelet Theatre in Paris starting from 7.30 pm GMT.

Why Lionel Messi Named Ballon D’or winner?

Why did Messi win?

Messi topped the votes chart after enjoying another memorable year with club and country. He helped Barcelona to Copa del Rey glory back in April, before going on to land s first senior trophy with Argentina at the Copa America 2021 – a competition that also saw him named Player of the Tournament. This victory came after losing in four major international finals in a row. Also since moving to PSG from Barcelona, he has scored 4 goals and provided 3 assists till now.

“Today I’m here in Paris. I am very happy, really very happy, I really want to continue to fight and reach new objectives. I don’t know how many more years but I am really enjoying myself. I thank my teammates at Barça, Paris & Argentina,” Messi said after receiving the award.

A look at the Complete Stadings

While Messi swept his way to the top spot in the Ballon d’Or poll once more, there were several other leading contenders for the award. Robert Lewandowski has remained in prolific form for Bayern Munich at the age of 33, with 25 goals from just 20 outings this season, but he had to settle for a runner-up spot. Chelsea midfielder Jorginho was another strong candidate having won the Euros with Italy and the Champions League with Chelsea, but he finished third. Karim Benzema and N’golo Kante rounded up the Top 5.

Other Winners

The 27-year-old midfielder Alexia Putellas won the award for the first time after helping Barca win the treble and scored 26 goals in 42 games overall. She netted in the Champions League final against Chelsea, and in August she was named UEFA women’s player of the year. Chelsea were named Club of the Year. The Yashin trophy for best goalkeeper went to Gigi Donnaruma, while Robert Lewandowski won the Striker of the year award. Barcelona talent Pedri was given the Kopa trophy for best Young player of the Year.

Let us know who you think should havw been given the Ballon D’or award??

Feature Image Credit: Twitter

Lionel Messi Named Ballon D’or Winner 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top Protection Status